Coastal Plain of India

Southern part of Indian subcontinent is bounded with the seas and ocean, viz., Arabian Sea, Bay of Bengal and Indian Ocean. Hence, coastal plain deserves a significant part of Indian physiography. The peninsular plateau is flanked by stretch of coastal plains along the Arabian sea and Bay of Bengal, and in the southern most point, at the vertices of these two coastal plains, meets the Indian Ocean. The plain along the Arabian Sea is called Western Coastal Plain, and the plain along the Bay of Bengal is called Eastern Coastal Plain. The eastern coastal plain having much width than the western coastal plain.


Western Coastal Plain

It extends along the Arabian sea, from the Rann of Kutch in the north to Kanyakumari in the south. Average length of this plane is about 1500 km. and average width is 65 km. Northern part of the western coastal plain is broader than its southern part.

It is divided into four parts :
  1. Kathiawar Cost
  2. Konkan Coast
  3. Malabar Coast
(Note to the fact, Karnataka and Kerala coastal plain are jointly known as Malabar Coast).

Coastal Plain of India
Fig. : Coastal Plain of India and its Divisions

Eastern Coastal Plain

The eastern coastal plain of India extends along the Bay of Bengal from the Ganga delta in the north and Kanyakumari in the south. it includes the cost of West Bengal Odisha, Andhra Pradesh and Tamilnadu. This coastal plain is formed by the erosion of river Ganga, Godavari, Krishna, and Kaveri. Average width of this plain varies between 161 km. to 483 km.

This plane is classified into three subdivisions. They are as follows :

  1. Utkal Coast
  2. Andhra Coast
  3. Coromandel Coast.

Post a Comment

Please do not enter any spam link in the comment box

Previous Post Next Post